report scams here at scam.com dont get scammed Scams and Scammers - Expose hypocrisy and spread respect ! Don't get ripped off! REGISTER
Go Back   scams > Scam Message Board > Hotel Scams
Register FAQ Register To Post Member List Promote Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 05-10-2007, 10:57 PM
I am new at Scam.com

Scammed at the front desk of Best Western

:mad:

You don't expect to get scammed at the front desk of a hotel, but I stayed at the Best Western and when I got ready to check out the desk clerk "pretended" to not be able to print my reciept. He kept pressing buttons on the computer saying that he could not get it to print. I had told him that the organization that I worked for would not let us pay for hotels with our procurement cards and I would be paying for the hotel with cash. I gave him the cash and he continued to pretend he could not get the receipt to print. He finally gave me a printout asking "will this do?" and said that it was not the actual receipt. Since I had to turn a receipt in to my employer, and it had a 0.00 balance due, I took the piece of paper. When I got my credit card statement he had also charged my credit card. I contacted the corporate office in Phoenix, AZ and received a letter saying that they had checked with the hotel and been advised the charge to my credit card was valid and would remain. Did they expect the hotel to say "Yes we stole her money"? I feel that it qualifies as a scammed the way the desk clerk staled me pretending he could not get the receipt to print and making me late so I would not really look at the piece of paper to see that it said VISA. :mad:

Old 05-11-2007, 07:00 AM
I am new at Scam.com

Re: Scammed at the front desk of Best Western

Two suggestions.

Contact the General Manager directly. Speak to them, going through a corprate office is a last resort GM's get more deffencive that way.

If that does not work, Issue a charge back through your credit card