Hello there people who enjoy researching scams,
I'm fairly new to this forum but I think I've come across an up-and-coming scam that people should be warned about and also a challenge for those of you who like to spend your time researching these things.
Word is that neverpayitback.com has been buying advertising spots on radio in the Portland, Ore., area and possibly in some other cities.
The basic pitch of neverpayitback.com appears to be a fairly old one: "FREE money available to you" out the "MILLION of dollars" that the federal government and private foundations are giving away in grants...
The main page of neverpayitback.com includes no price disclosure (only the mention of FREE money) and a short form to fill in a first name and email address.
So I filled out the form and hit the submit button and found myself dropped onto a new page, this time with warnings of the limited time available to apply for a free trial. And a new form asking for my household income, employment status and a few other pieces of person information. So I filled it out (without my real info of course), and clicked on the button. And was dropped on a new page with a new form...
Ultimately, following the path on neverpayitback.com to its end, I went through four different forms. Had I filled them out honestly, neverpayitback.com would have had my name, household income and employment status, my home address and in the end my credit card number.
The page with the credit card number stated in large type that that cc number was needed for a $2.29 shipping and handling charge for a "free" CD with information about grant programs.
But in smaller type, under the credit card form, neverpayitback.com discloses
monthly fees totaling $57.85 if you fail to cancel their service after a seven-day free trial.
This probably isn't new to those of you who are regulars on this forum, but I should say for the benefit of anyone who finds their way here trying to research neverpayitback.com: You should never pay for information about government grant programs.
The Federal Trade Commission put out a
statement three years ago that essentially called such offers scams. Information about all of the government grant programs is available for free at
grants.gov, is what the FTC said.
Now to be fair, neverpayitback.com also claimed to have information about private foundation grants. I suppose it's possible there's some value there. But I don't care to pay them $60 a month to find out.
Grants don't appear to be much of a source for quick money anyway. The ones on the government's site seem mainly to be for students, researchers, and non-profits to fund government programs. And they all involve a competitive application process.
So.... for the scam hobbyists all of this probably seems pretty old. But there's one detail about neverpayitback.com that I hope you'll find intriguing.
The main page of neverpayitback.com features a picture of a smiling, middle-aged man in a business suit. Under the picture, is the cursive signature of "Alan Freidman" and the title "Co-Chairman." Apparently the guy in charge of neverpayitback.com.
Out of curiosity, I googled Alan Freidman (with the unusual "e" before "i" spelling, even).
The first result? A page of the U.S. Justice Department's web site!
Quote:
United States v. Alan Freidman
On July 9, 2007, Alan Freidman was charged by federal criminal information with 1 count of conspiracy to commit mail fraud. The charges alleged that Alan Freidman participated in business opportunity fraud through telemarketing. The charges were filed in the U.S. District Court for the Southern District of Florida, and involved Alan Freidman's conduct at a fraudulent business opportunity firm called Tel-2-Net Corp.
On July 30, 2007, Alan Freidman pled guilty to 1 count of conspiracy to commit mail fraud. In doing so, Alan Freidman admitted he had engaged in business opportunity fraud through telemarketing.
On January 3, 2008, Alan Freidman was sentenced to 2 months' probation and 600 hours of community service. During his term of probation, Alan Freidman is not permitted to sell business opportunities or engage in telemarketing without approval of the probation office and the Court.
|
Now, it's of course possible that Neverpayitback.com'a Alan Freidman and the Tel-2-Net scam Alan Freidman are two different people: After all,
IT WOULD TAKE BALLS for a convicted criminal to put his name and face on the main page of the web site of his next business venture.... especially for a venture as sketchy as neverpayitback.com
So earlier this week, I dropped Neverpayitback.com an email. The exchange went like this:
Me:
Quote:
Hello,
My name is XXXXXXXXX and I write a blog called XXXXXXXXX I was
wondering if Alan Freidman, the man you identify on your web site as your
co-chairman, is the same Alan Freidman who was convicted of mail fraud
two years ago in situation involving a company called Tel-2-Net.
If not, can you please provide me with some information to help verify
this? His age, the city he lived in in 2007 and some of his employment
history in the years before 2007 would do.
Thank you,
--
XXXXXXXXX
XXXXXX.com
|
And Neverpayitback responded:
Quote:
Hi XXXX,
Thank you for your email.
Our Alan Freidman is not the same Alan as you are referring to.
But did Google and see what you mention... have no idea who Tel2Net is.
Am not able to give out personal information on individuals at NPB but
will pass this on to upper management so they can learn more about your Alan.
Thank you again for you inquiry.
Cheryl
NPB Support Manager
|
So.... Neverpayitback.com says that their Alan Freidman IS NOT the Tel-2-Net criminal Alan Freidman.
But they provide us with no information to confirm this on our own.
So at this point I'm stuck. Is there some way of determining whether the two Freidmans are the same or different? And is neverpayitback's Freidman even real? He might be just a generic name and picture of a business man to give a web site credibility.
I know that some of the regulars on this forum like looking into situations like this. How to investigate this...